Facts checked on 5 November 2026

Square Loyalty Program Alternative Without a Square POS

Square Loyalty is a points program built into Square Point of Sale. BonusQR is a loyalty app for small businesses that works with any till: customers keep their card in Apple Wallet or Google Wallet, and staff scan it with a phone or tablet.

Feature by feature

The same 23 features for both products. A tick where the product has it, a cross where its own website shows it does not.

BonusQR21/23
Square Loyalty8/23

13 features are not stated on the other provider’s website

FeatureBonusQRSquare Loyalty
Price and setup
Free plan, not just a trialYesNo
Works with any till, no POS neededYesNo
Points added automatically by the POSCustom projectYes
API for developersYesNot stated
The customer’s card
Card in Apple WalletYesYes
Card in Google WalletYesNot stated
Customers join without downloading an appYesYes
Loyalty programs
Stamp cardYesNot stated
PointsBasicYes
CashbackYesNot stated
Tiers and VIP levelsBasicYes
Referral rewardsPremiumNot stated
Birthday rewardsPremiumNot stated
Welcome reward for new membersYesNot stated
Marketing
Push notifications and newsBasicNot stated
SMS marketingNoYes
Location-based notificationsBasicNot stated
Feedback and Google review requestsBasicNot stated
Running the business
Appointment or table bookingBasicNot stated
Gift vouchers sold onlineBasicNot stated
Several locations in one accountBasicYes
Separate staff loginsBasicNot stated
Rewards for online-store ordersBasicYes

Green: yes. Red: no, as the provider’s own website shows. Grey: not stated on its website, which does not mean it is missing. A plan name means the feature is in that BonusQR plan. Checked on 5 November 2026.

BonusQR vs Square Loyalty at a glance

The same ten questions for both, answered from each product’s own website and app.

FeatureBonusQRSquare Loyalty
PriceFree plan, free forever; Basic 19 €/month, Premium 69 €/month (less with longer billing). The pricing page shows your currency.Included in Square Plus: $49 per month per location (Square Premium $149), with a 30-day free trial of Plus – US prices as Square lists them
Free planYes, with unlimited customers and 7 types of loyalty programsNo – the loyalty program is part of Square Plus, not Square Free
POS or hardware neededNo. Staff scan the customer’s QR code with any phone or tablet; a POS link through the REST API is a custom project, quoted separatelyRuns inside Square: customers earn points through Square Point of Sale, Square Invoices or a Square Online site
Loyalty programs12 types: stamp card, cashback, reward for visits or spend, discounts, welcome coupon, custom offer (Free); points and tiered stamp card (Basic); tiered cashback, referral, birthday and other occasions (Premium)Points by visit, by amount spent or by items bought; bonus-point promotions and VIP tiers
Apple Wallet & Google WalletYes, a loyalty card for both walletsAn Apple Wallet loyalty pass is offered; Google Wallet is not mentioned on Square’s loyalty page
Customer appNot required: the card works in the browser and in the wallet; the BonusQR app for iOS and Android is optionalNo separate app: customers sign up at checkout, on a Square website or from an invoice and are recognised by their phone number
Staff and locationsYour own login on Free; 5 staff logins and several locations on Basic, unlimited staff on PremiumPriced per location; staff work in Square Point of Sale
Beyond loyaltyBookings, customer feedback, gift vouchers, prepaid packages, news and GEO notifications (Basic), Google review invitations (Premium)Automatic text messages when customers earn points or rewards, next to Square’s POS, online store and invoicing tools
Online storeWooCommerce and Shopify, on a paid planSquare Online
Languages20 languages, for the business and its customersSquare lists Australia, Canada, France, Ireland, Japan, Spain, the UK and the US

Square facts from squareup.com as listed on 5 November 2026 (US pages). Square did not state Google Wallet support, referral or birthday rewards, or prices outside the US on the pages we checked.

Strengths on both sides

A fair look at what each product is built for.

What Square Loyalty does well

  • Points are earned automatically at a Square till, including for cash payments
  • Flexible earning: by visit, amount spent or the items and categories bought
  • VIP tiers and bonus-point promotions for the best customers
  • One system with Square’s POS, online store and invoices

Where BonusQR is different

  • No POS needed: staff scan the customer’s QR code with any phone or tablet, next to whatever till you use
  • A free plan, free forever, with unlimited customers and 7 program types
  • Stamp cards, cashback, rewards for visits or spend and welcome coupons, not only points
  • Each member gets a card in Apple Wallet or Google Wallet, or keeps it in the browser or the BonusQR app

Which one should you choose?

Stay with Square Loyalty if…

your business already runs on Square Point of Sale, you want points to land without anyone scanning a code, and the Square Plus price per location fits your budget.

Choose BonusQR if…

you work with another cash register or none at all, you want a stamp card or cashback rather than points, or you want to start a loyalty program for free and add paid features only when you need them.

How to switch to BonusQR

You can run BonusQR next to your current system while your customers move over.

  1. 1

    Set up from Google Maps

    Type your business name as it appears on Google Maps. BonusQR fills in the name, address and photo and creates a starter program you can change.

  2. 2

    Rebuild your rewards

    Add the stamp card, cashback or reward you run today, with the same goal, so regulars recognise it.

  3. 3

    Print the QR code and scan

    Print the free counter stand, sticker or flyer. Customers join from the QR code, and staff scan them with a phone or tablet.

Square Loyalty vs BonusQR: FAQ

What owners ask when they compare loyalty apps.

Does Square have a loyalty program?

Yes. Square Loyalty is a points program inside the Square ecosystem: customers earn points through Square Point of Sale, Square Invoices or Square Online and redeem them for an amount off or a free item.

How much does the Square loyalty program cost?

As Square lists it in the US, loyalty is part of Square Plus at $49 per month per location (Square Premium is $149), with a 30-day free trial. BonusQR has a free plan with unlimited customers; Basic is 19 €/month and Premium 69 €/month, and the pricing page shows your currency.

Can I use BonusQR if my business already uses Square?

Yes. BonusQR does not need a POS connection: customers show their BonusQR card and staff scan it with a phone or tablet next to the Square till. An automatic link between your POS and BonusQR is possible through the BonusQR REST API as a custom project, quoted separately.

Is there a free alternative to Square Loyalty?

BonusQR has a free plan, free forever, with unlimited customers and 7 types of loyalty programs, including the stamp card, cashback and rewards for visits or spend.

Does Square Loyalty work with Apple Wallet and Google Wallet?

Square offers an Apple Wallet loyalty pass; its loyalty page does not mention Google Wallet. A BonusQR card can be saved to both Apple Wallet and Google Wallet, or kept in the browser or the BonusQR app.

How do I move from Square Loyalty to BonusQR?

Set up BonusQR from your Google Maps listing, recreate the reward your regulars know, and print the free QR code stand for the counter. You can keep both running while customers join BonusQR by scanning the QR code.

Sources

Everything we say about the other product comes from its official website, checked on 5 November 2026. Prices and features change; check the provider’s site before you decide. BonusQR facts are from the BonusQR app and pricing page.

Want to launch a loyalty program for your business?
Set it up in just a few minutes!