Facts checked on 5 November 2026

Clover Loyalty Program Alternative That Works With Any Till

Clover Rewards is the points program that comes with some Clover POS service plans. BonusQR is a loyalty app you can use with any till: customers keep their card in Apple Wallet or Google Wallet, and staff scan it with a phone or tablet.

Feature by feature

The same 23 features for both products. A tick where the product has it, a cross where its own website shows it does not.

BonusQR21/23
Clover Rewards4/23

18 features are not stated on the other provider’s website

FeatureBonusQRClover Rewards
Price and setup
Free plan, not just a trialYesNot stated
Works with any till, no POS neededYesNo
Points added automatically by the POSCustom projectNot stated
API for developersYesNot stated
The customer’s card
Card in Apple WalletYesNot stated
Card in Google WalletYesNot stated
Customers join without downloading an appYesYes
Loyalty programs
Stamp cardYesNot stated
PointsBasicYes
CashbackYesNot stated
Tiers and VIP levelsBasicNot stated
Referral rewardsPremiumNot stated
Birthday rewardsPremiumPaid add-on
Welcome reward for new membersYesNot stated
Marketing
Push notifications and newsBasicNot stated
SMS marketingNoNot stated
Location-based notificationsBasicNot stated
Feedback and Google review requestsBasicYes
Running the business
Appointment or table bookingBasicNot stated
Gift vouchers sold onlineBasicNot stated
Several locations in one accountBasicNot stated
Separate staff loginsBasicNot stated
Rewards for online-store ordersBasicNot stated

Green: yes. Red: no, as the provider’s own website shows. Grey: not stated on its website, which does not mean it is missing. A plan name means the feature is in that BonusQR plan. Checked on 5 November 2026.

BonusQR vs Clover Rewards at a glance

The same ten questions for both, answered from each product’s own website and app.

FeatureBonusQRClover Rewards
PriceFree plan, free forever; Basic 19 €/month, Premium 69 €/month (less with longer billing). The pricing page shows your currency.Included in select Clover service plans with no extra fee; the Clover App Market listing names Essentials and Growth and a $0.01 pay-per-action loyalty fee. Plan prices could not be read on Clover’s pages
Free planYes, with unlimited customers and 7 types of loyalty programsNo – it comes with a paid Clover service plan
POS or hardware neededNo. Staff scan the customer’s QR code with any phone or tablet; a POS link through the REST API is a custom project, quoted separatelyRuns on Clover: points through printed receipt codes, the Clover app or self check-in on a customer-facing Clover Mini
Loyalty programs12 types: stamp card, cashback, reward for visits or spend, discounts, welcome coupon, custom offer (Free); points and tiered stamp card (Basic); tiered cashback, referral, birthday and other occasions (Premium)Points: by default 1 point per dollar, earned on later visits
Apple Wallet & Google WalletYes, a loyalty card for both walletsNot stated on Clover’s website
Customer appNot required: the card works in the browser and in the wallet; the BonusQR app for iOS and Android is optionalCustomers join with a phone number or e-mail; they can check in with the Clover app, or text a receipt code to 73752 without it
Staff and locationsYour own login on Free; 5 staff logins and several locations on Basic, unlimited staff on PremiumPart of the merchant’s Clover setup
Beyond loyaltyBookings, customer feedback, gift vouchers, prepaid packages, news and GEO notifications (Basic), Google review invitations (Premium)Feedback together with rewards, as Clover describes it in its blog
Online storeWooCommerce and Shopify, on a paid planNot stated on Clover’s website
Languages20 languages, for the business and its customersUS pages (clover.com/en-US); other markets not stated

Clover facts from clover.com as found on 5 November 2026; several Clover pages did not load for us, so some details come from Clover’s help pages and App Market listing. Plan prices, wallet cards and plan inclusion by industry were not stated clearly – please check them with Clover.

Strengths on both sides

A fair look at what each product is built for.

What Clover Rewards does well

  • Rewards come with select Clover plans without an extra subscription
  • Customers join with just a phone number or e-mail
  • Several ways to earn: receipt codes, the Clover app or a self check-in screen
  • One system with the Clover POS the business already uses

Where BonusQR is different

  • No POS needed: staff scan the customer’s QR code with any phone or tablet, next to whatever till you use
  • A free plan, free forever, with unlimited customers and 7 program types
  • Stamp cards, cashback, rewards for visits or spend and welcome coupons, not only points
  • Each customer gets a card in Apple Wallet or Google Wallet, or keeps it in the browser or the BonusQR app

Which one should you choose?

Stay with Clover Rewards if…

your business already runs on Clover devices, your plan includes rewards, and points per dollar are the program you want.

Choose BonusQR if…

you work with another cash register or none at all, you want a stamp card or cashback rather than points, or you want a loyalty card your customers keep in their phone’s wallet, starting on a free plan.

How to switch to BonusQR

You can run BonusQR next to your current system while your customers move over.

  1. 1

    Set up from Google Maps

    Type your business name as it appears on Google Maps. BonusQR fills in the name, address and photo and creates a starter program you can change.

  2. 2

    Rebuild your rewards

    Add the stamp card, cashback or reward you run today, with the same goal, so regulars recognise it.

  3. 3

    Print the QR code and scan

    Print the free counter stand, sticker or flyer. Customers join from the QR code, and staff scan them with a phone or tablet.

Clover Rewards vs BonusQR: FAQ

What owners ask when they compare loyalty apps.

Does Clover have a loyalty program?

Yes. Clover Rewards lets customers join with a phone number or e-mail and earn points on later visits, by default 1 point per dollar, through receipt codes, the Clover app or a self check-in on a Clover Mini.

How much does the Clover loyalty program cost?

Clover says reward features are included in select service plans with no additional fee; its App Market listing names the Essentials and Growth plans and a $0.01 pay-per-action loyalty fee. BonusQR has a free plan with unlimited customers; Basic is 19 €/month and Premium 69 €/month.

Can I use BonusQR with a Clover POS?

Yes. BonusQR does not need a POS connection: customers show their BonusQR card and staff scan it with a phone or tablet next to the Clover device. An automatic link to a POS is possible through the BonusQR REST API as a custom project, quoted separately.

Is there a free alternative to Clover Rewards?

BonusQR has a free plan, free forever, with unlimited customers and 7 types of loyalty programs, including the stamp card, cashback and rewards for visits or spend.

Does Clover Rewards work with Apple Wallet and Google Wallet?

Wallet cards were not mentioned on the Clover pages we could check. A BonusQR card can be saved to Apple Wallet and Google Wallet, or kept in the browser or the BonusQR app.

How do I move from Clover Rewards to BonusQR?

Set up BonusQR from your Google Maps listing, recreate the reward your regulars know, and print the free QR code stand for the counter. You can keep both running while customers join BonusQR by scanning the QR code.

Sources

Everything we say about the other product comes from its official website, checked on 5 November 2026. Prices and features change; check the provider’s site before you decide. BonusQR facts are from the BonusQR app and pricing page.

Want to launch a loyalty program for your business?
Set it up in just a few minutes!